A place I’ve been…

photo credit

This is the season of long, slow, sunny days off work and so, to match the dreamy pace of life, I’ve been reading a long, slow book. As I’m still immersed in this book and am nowhere near finishing it yet, I thought that in the meantime I’d do this questionnaire which I’ve seen around, all lists of four things.

Four jobs I have had in my life
– editorial assistant
– admin assistant
– teaching English
– working in a pub

Four authors I could read over and over again
I haven’t been much of a re-reader lately but I’ve read almost everything these authors have written.
– Haruki Murakami
– Richard Yates
– Jean Rhys
– F. Scott Fitzgerald

Four places I have lived
– Cheshire
– Oxford
– London
– Cambridge

Four books I would recommend
There are so many I could recommend but here’s my selection.
– What I Loved by Siri Hustvedt
(a beautiful book, full of ideas, about love, relationships and art. Actually I wouldn’t mind reading this one again…)
– The Blue Flower by Penelope Fitzgerald
(a very atmospheric and original book about the life of a Romantic poet and philosopher)
– Wise Children by Angela Carter
(the magical and joyful story of a theatrical family, one half classical Shakespearean, the other half from the music halls)
– Morvern Callar by Alan Warner
(a book with a unique and special main character, a girl from a remote part of Scotland whose boyfriend dies leaving an unpublished novel…)

Four places I have been
Obviously I’ve chosen some of the most exciting and loveliest places to list here.
– Paris
– Venice
– Barcelona
– Vienna

Four of my favourite foods
– yoghurt with honey
– raspberries and cream
– coffee
– any Japanese, Indian or Thai food!

Four places I would rather be right now
– anywhere by the sea
– New York (I’ve never been but I feel sure I would like it…)
– Italy
– France

Four things that are very special in my life
– long walks
– singing in a choir
– my various favourite bands
– reading!
Leave a Reply

