Favourite characters

Ballet Shoes: Illustration by Ruth Gervis, found here

Which characters did you like best in your favourite childhood books? Were you more of a Jo or an Amy, a Pauline or a Petrova? I’ve recently been thinking about how readers identify with fictional characters and how important this was in my experience of reading as a child. My thoughts below are of course only based on my own experience so I hope I won’t generalise too much – I would like to hear other people’s differing opinions too.

Although sympathy with particular characters is still very much part of the pleasure of reading for me now, I think the role it played for me in childhood was quite different. Obviously I read much less critically or analytically when I was younger; I chose my favourite character in each book quite consciously and virtually lived the story through their eyes. I wonder if the importance of this experience of completely absorbed sympathy is the reason for the number of children’s books featuring a group of characters, all with very different personalities, inviting the reader to find an equivalent of himself or herself somewhere among the crowd. I’m thinking of Noel Streatfeild’s or Enid Blyton’s novels, or L.M. Montgomery’s The Story Girl and The Golden Road.

I find people’s memories of children’s books interesting because I think looking back on which character you felt for the most tells you something about your younger self. Identifying with a character reveals something about the reader’s personality and how she sees herself, but what kind of fictional alter-ego a reader finds at that age can also show something about how they would like to be in the future. And I think that’s why children’s books can sometimes be inspiring, presenting new possibilities and a future that the reader has never considered before, or simply reflecting someone’s self back to them in fiction in a new, comforting way, showing they are not alone in their experience. At other times children’s books may offer nothing to a particular reader because they can’t see anything at all with which they can sympathise.

When I read Ballet Shoes, my favourite character was Pauline, I think simply because she was quite glamorous and good at acting – I probably also identified with her as the oldest sister and supposedly the most responsible, although luckily I wasn’t in charge of earning money for my family at the age of eleven like Pauline was… I couldn’t identify much with the other sisters as I wasn’t single-minded with an all-consuming talent like Posy and I wasn’t a tomboy interested in mechanics like Petrova (although, now I look back, I really like the character of Petrova, particularly as she took a while to find any encouragement of her own interests, being something of a misfit in such a theatrical family). Anyway, I felt for Pauline through all her successes and humiliations at auditions, even though the chances of me ever going on stage myself were close to zero!

Another of Noel Streatfeild’s books, White Boots, is about two ice-skating friends, Lalla and Harriet. This presented something of a dilemma as I’d have quite liked to resemble Lalla, the talented and outgoing future star of the ice-dancing show, even though she was rather spoilt and bossy, but I knew I was really more like Harriet, quiet, serious and withdrawn. But the book shows that being Harriet isn’t all that bad, really, because as the story progresses she becomes more confident and healthier and begins to dream of a career as a figure skater. I also liked the character of Myra in Apple Bough as, although she doesn’t have an obvious talent like her musical siblings, she is a kind and empathetic person who takes care of the rest of the family. I like the way Noel Streatfeild’s books allow the reader to identify with awkward characters who have trouble fitting in, as well as sometimes showing these characters discovering talents they didn’t know about.

Little Women was another of my favourite books when I was younger. I think Jo is the character most readers like the best because of her spirit, her love of books, and the fact that Louisa May Alcott probably put most of her own personality into the character. However, I always wanted to be Meg. This strikes me as strange because now I think Meg is probably the least interesting of the sisters, and because, as a child, I was always writing stories and reading, just like Jo. Since then I’ve also seen the 1933 film, which my sister and I watched every Christmas for years, growing up, and which has a wonderful performance of Jo by Katharine Hepburn. I expect if I read the book now, my favourite character would be Jo. However, I think, looking back, that I sympathised with Meg’s desire to grow up and get married and have more security in her life. Because I wasn’t very rebellious as a child, it was hard for me to feel much like a Jo. And for the same reason, in the Famous Five books (I’m not a fan of Enid Blyton at all but I did read a vast quantity of her books as a child), I identified more with Anne than with George, which is perhaps an even more unpopular choice and has always felt like something I should be slightly ashamed to admit!

Which characters did you identify with most in the books you read as a child? Did you ever prefer a less obvious character, maybe a different choice from other readers you know? I find this idea of sympathising with the non-obvious or less immediately likeable characters interesting, as I think it shows how individual the experience of reading can be, and how much it’s affected by the reader’s own particular character and circumstances. It also suggests to me the complexity of fiction, showing that it may contain more possibilities than the author consciously knew, and that a book may inspire someone in an unexpected way.

2 comments
  1. Erin said:

    Great post! What a fun and interesting topic. My two favorite heroines as a kid were Anne Shirley from Anne of Green Gables and Laura from Little House on the Prairie, no contest. I was obsessed with their time periods and wanted to be a little girl living the way they did. I was actually sort of a shy kid, so I think maybe I liked these two girls who were less so.

    • Sarah said:

      I like the idea that favourite characters could appeal because they’re a bit different from the way we are ourselves. I read both of those books when I was younger and really liked them both. They definitely have interesting heroines. Thanks for commenting 🙂

Leave a Reply

